Wal Mart Brand canning supplies: JMO

I put a lot of time and effort into what I can. Seem of the food I buy at the grocery store, some from the local frames market. A lot is produce from local gleaning expeditions. Generally I can a couple dozen of most things so that I am not running out in the middle of the year, some so that it lasts two years. This allows me to make certain things less often. This is a big investment for me to feed my family.

Normally I call myself the Queen of Cheap. I save money in every way I can. I believe that most times generic brands are just as good as the name brand. Sometimes, it is the same product produced the same factory. However there ar times when generic is not the way to go.

i purchase a couple cases of quart jars recently along with a few boxes of lids at the local Wal Mart. It only saved me a few dollars but hey, it all adds up. Right? I have regretted it even since.

image

The jars are difficult to identify as canning jars, they look like mayonnaise jars. I had to educate the kids to be sure they didn’t throw them away and stored them with the other canning jars after being washed.

image

The lids, are a whole other story. Almost every single one crinkles while being processed. This occurs in the waterbath as well as pressure canning. All have flattened out for the most part, but some crinkling remains. I thoroughly check each one to make sure it is sealed before putting it on  no shelf, but I worry that they will stay sealed over time. So I have out them in the front so as to use them first.

It was difficult to get the crinkling to show up in a photograph and much of it flattened out by the time I got this shot. But you can still see it is not perfectly flat like it should be.
It was difficult to get the crinkling to show up in a photograph and much of it flattened out by the time I got this shot. But you can still see it is not perfectly flat like it should be.

Since i purchased these items I have seen similar complaints in the canning groups I am in. Personally I intend to stick with Kerr brand in the future. Let me know your experience with the brand.

Leave a Reply

