Coca Cola. Pork Chops

I am a couponer, gleaner and all around thrifty shopper. I am willing to spend a little extra to get a great quality item but still try to get the biggest bang for my buck. The question isn’t how little I can spend, but how does that translate into putting good meals together. These Coca Cola Pork Chops are a great example of how to do it.

I was able to purchase several large pork loins for only $4 each. Once I took them home I cut them up to make 4 meals from each one. I have 2 small loins that will feed my family of 3, thick cut pork chops, and cubed pieces for casseroles all in the freezer for future nights. I was able to get 4 meals from each loin, thus already dropping the prie to only $1 each dinner. As there are only a few ingredients, the cost of this main dish stays low.

INGREDIENTS
Pork Chops
1c Ketchup
1c Coke (any brand just not diet)
2Tb Brown Sugar
Salt & Pepper

Use your favorite brand.
Use your favorite brand.

Set the oven to 350 degrees. Season the pork chops with salt and pepper. Because there is a sauce I prefer to go boneless, but it isn’t a big deal to use ones with bones. They just takes a little longer to cook. Combine the ketchup, cola and brown sugar together and pour over the chops. That is it, simple and fast and you won’t even work up a sweat!

All ready to bake.
All ready to bake.

Place the baking dish into the oven for about 30 minutes. If you are using thin pork chops cook a little less and they have bones, it will be a little longer.

The thickened sauce is great to serve over rice or noodles.
The thickened sauce is great to serve over rice or noodles.

To round out the meal I served with rice and a dark green salad. My total cost for 3 people for everything on the plate was about $1.65, or .55 cents per person. The sauce reminds me of sweet and sour but not nearly as sweet. Now excuse me while I go eat this beautiful meal.

image

Leave a Reply

